NEC Conference Update

Believe it or not the 2009 New England Chapter Let Your Imagination Take Flight Conference is just a few weeks away. There is still time to register; in fact, registration will be open until Tuesday, March 24, 2009.

The cost to attend this year is $189 for NEC members and $199 for Non-NEC Members. To take advantage of discount room rates ($109 per night) at the Sheraton Framingham Hotel, be sure to register for conference and the hotel by March 6, 2009.

For a direct link to the registration form, go to:

Registration check-in will start at 2 p.m. on Friday, March 27.

Workshop Schedule
Refer to the post below for a full listing of our workshops for Friday and Saturday. Please note the workshop schedule is subject to change at any time.

Agent/Editor Appointment Pitching Tips

We hope as many NEC members who can attend the conference will do so, and that everyone who has been laboring so hard on their current work in progress over the past weeks, months, or perhaps years, will be ready to pitch to the agent or editor of their choice.

Everyone who requested an appointment will receive at least one meeting with either an editor or agent, as noted as either the first or second choice on your completed registration forms. For those people whose preferences could not be met, our Editor/Agents Chair, Meghan Gehan will be in touch with you to try to find you a suitable appointment.

The entire conference committee wishes great success with your appointments.

Friday Night Dinner and Saturday Book Fair
During dinner on Friday night, we will announce the winners of the NEC Bean Pot and the First Kiss contests. A DJ will also provide extra entertainment this year. Come as you are, kick off your heels and have a good time!

Also, the Book Fair starts at 4 p.m. on Saturday. We have a number of wonderful authors signing this year and hope you will join in the fun and help support fellow NEC members and local authors from a number of our sister RWA Chapters.

Authors signing at the book fair this year are: Jennifer Greene, Jessica Andersen, Lisa Gardner, Judith Arnold, Angelique Armae, Anna DeStefano, Annette Blair, Annie Stillwater Gray, Ashlyn Chase, Brenda Gayle, Caroline Linden, Christyne Butler, Dalton Diaz, Denise Eagan, Donna Russo Morin, Eileen Charbonneau, Emily Bryan, Evelyn Richardson, Georgia Evans/Rosemary Laurey, Geri Krotow, Hannah Howell, Jan Coffey, Janet Mullany, Jennifer Linforth, Judi Phillips, K.A. Mitchell, Kathryn Smith, Kathy Cottrell, Kristan Higgins, Linda Bleser, Linda Cardillo, Lindsay Downs, Loretta Chase, Margaret Moore, Marie Force, Marissa Doyle, Miranda Neville, Pam Champagne, Patricia Grasso, Robie Madison, Rosemary Laurey, Sally MacKenzie, Sarah Atwell, Shirley Ann Howard, Stella Price, Susan Colebank, Susan Vaughn, Terri Brisbin, Toni Andrews, and Virginia Reede.

See you on March 27!

The NEC Conference Committee